wild {unknown} friday

  This card talks about conflict and the sometimes unforeseen consequences of it. I think that the adage “choose your battles wisely” is a very important concept when studying this card as it reminds us that sometimes when we get involved in conflicts with others, it is not without high cost to ourselves, even if we “win”.
The guy in this card looks a little smug, but it seems he has lost almost everything by engaging in this particular battle. Yes, he has most of the swords, symbolising victory, but he has lost the shirt on his back in the process.
This card spells out the unpalatable truth about conflict and shows us that sometimes it is better to just walk away. If it is just a matter of always needing to be right, or in control, or trying to stop our pride or ego taking a dent, is it really worth the hassle of embroiling ourselves in a battle with someone? We may win the argument, but at what cost? Sometimes we do more damage to ourselves by pursuing something that is better left alone. We may end up losing friends, family, the respect of others and our own self respect in the process. A high price to pay for a conflict, that in the grand scheme of things was not, in the final analysis, worth the heartache.

6 thoughts on “wild {unknown} friday

  1. Hmmmmm, so weird that I’ve read your post at a time where I am in a kind of ‘battle’ with the NHS. Well, more of a positive challenge really! So true, sometimes it is about ego and control and your post is a timely reminder to check and see what is really underneath my battle, human rights or my ego??!! Aaaaargh! Thank you for this gentle kick up the bum!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post and insight! I recall a few years ago when I drew this card in regards to the custody battle I was fighting against my ex husband. Our fight was contentious, and I always kept the image of this card in the back of my head during our court appearances, using its message as guidance each step of the way. In the end, no body won. I can’t wait to read more of your tarot interpretations! Xo to the moon and back! – dawn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Dawn! I think so often the fight can get so bitter that no one wins anyway…..you just end up bruised and battered but no further forward. I’m trying to keep this card in mind as I go about my week and if a situation arises where I might be called into battle, I will remember to step back and consider the wisdom of this card before I get embroiled!😊

      Like

  3. This is such a perfect post for me, Dawn…. can’t really go into it all here, but I draw this card over and over again, so often that I end up putting the cards back in the drawer because I’m tired of seeing this guy.
    What you have written here is the most meaningful interpretation of the card I have read … it really hits home and I think I ‘get it’ for the first time in the last few years. Thanks so much for this – I think I will be pulling out my long-ignored deck the next chance I have for some alone time….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oops, blushing here Caro… sorry, I called you Dawn as I babbled on above, I really did know it was you, (cause I just read your About page), but guess I had the previous comment on my mind…. sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

