a bee in my bonnet……

  A couple of nights ago, lying in bed, I had the sudden thought that I’d adore a Davenport writing desk. I spent a dreamy half an hour imagining what I would stash in all the little drawers and cubby holes……stationery, pens, my journal, past journals in a secret locked drawer. I had already envisioned what I would display on the top; a stunning large piece of Labradorite, shot through with amazing golden flashes, like lots of slender sun bathed tree trunks; a posy of hand picked wild flowers and a favourite mug of steaming, freshly brewed coffee. 

I saw myself sitting at that desk, MacBook opened in front of me, poised to be inspired, and bubbling over with enthusiasm to get cracking on my latest blog post.

The next morning the first thing I did was to open my eBay app and search for “writing desks”. Straight away a Davenport popped up on my screen! It looked in beautiful condition, was in my price range (amazing for a Davenport!) and more importantly was situated only a few miles away from where I live. BINGO! I rapidly fired off a message to the seller to check out a few details……it seemed perfect.

As my finger hovered over the “Buy it Now” button, the unthinkable happened and right before my eyes the status changed to SOLD. I couldn’t believe it……someone had beaten me to it.

So, now I have to conclude that the Universe had other ideas and the desk simply wasn’t for me. Maybe it was just another accoutrement I believed that it was vital for me to have before I could start writing “good” blog posts. Perhaps I need to learn that no amount of posh pens, top of the range computers, fancy stationery or antique writing desks are actually going to make one iota of difference to the quality of my writing?

As if to prove a point I’ve just written this post in a cafe on my iPhone. It might not be “good”, but at least I’ve demonstrated to myself that I don’t need all the extraneous stuff in order to write.

I know what I’m like though, and once I have “a bee in my bonnet” about something, I will probably continue to scan eBay obsessively looking for another likely contender. However I have learned an important lesson….I don’t need the desk……it doesn’t stop me desiring one though!

5 thoughts on “a bee in my bonnet……

  1. I can certainly relate to your vivid imagination and all the thrills of visualising a new purchase in your life ๐Ÿ’œ Brava in getting down to basics for this post – it reminds me of how little we need to succeed in blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So disappointing…. but I do admire your decision to turn it around to something positive. I usually tell myself something like: ‘there’s a better one coming’ and I bet for you, there is! I’m also admiring writing a post on your iPhone… I hadn’t even thought of that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I must admit Janet, I find the iPhone WordPress app is really easy to use, and I like the freedom of being able to write a post when an idea comes to me.๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  3. You are a woman after my own heart, Caro. I have bees in my bonnet all the time. And that desk is just beyond. Now I fear that I will be trolling eBay for one as well- don’t worry, we won’t be in competition since I’m in California.

    This is great- and I never would have known this was written on an iPhone in a cafe if you hadn’t said. Perhaps the trick now is to seek out antique stores and sit at davenports there and write up posts on your iPhone? Still satisfying, but free? Perhaps I will try this technique and report back…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

